

# INDIAN NATIONAL CONGRESS





# Associations formed before Congress

# Bangabhasha Prakashika Sabha

·1836: by Raja Ram Mohan Roy's Associates

#### East India Association

·1866: by Dadabhai Naoroji

# (Poona Sarvajanik Sabha)

·1870: M G Ranade

·1st Indian to qualify ICS: Satyendranath Tagore

## Indian League

1875: by Sisir Kumar Ghosh

#### Indian National Association

·1876: by Surendranath Banerjee, Anand Mohan Bose

# Bombay Presidency Association

·1885: by Pherozeshah Mehta, K. T Telang, and Badruddin Tyabji

Madras Mahajan Sabha: 1884

# Dadabhai Naoroji

- ·1st British Indian Member of Parliament
- ·1st to calculate National Income and Poverty Line (1st by him)
- ·Rast Goftar (weekly newspaper) -For Parsi Community
- \*Book: "Poverty and UnBritish Rule in India" Gives Drain Theory
- 'Used the term "Swaraj" for the 1st time
- ' Also known as "Grand Old Man of India"
- 3 times Congress President (1886, 1893, 1906)

## Formation of Congress

Founder: Ornithologist → Allen Octavian Hume (qualified ICS, Father of Indian Ornithology) in 1885

1885: Poona (not possible due to plague)

- .1st session held at Gokuldas Tejpal Sanskrit College, Bombay  $\rightarrow$  72 delegates attended this
- · No women participated

1st session

→ By llbert

Ilbert Bill: 1884, by Ripon

A measure that allow senior Indian magistrates to preside over cases involving British Subjects in India —But this received a huge backlash

#### Different Theories

- ·Saftey Valve Theory: By Lala Lajpat Rai (Young India)
- ·Conspiracy Theory: R. P. Dutt
- ·Lightning Conductor Theory: Gopal Krishna Gokhale

# Important Sessions of Congress

- · 1st: 1885 → W. C Banerjee, Bombay → 72 delegates attended
- · 2nd: 1886 → Dadabhai Naoroji, Calcutta →434 delegates attended
- 3rd: 1887→Badruddin Tyabji, Madras→1st Muslim President of Congress
- ·4th: 1888—George Yule, Allahabad—>1st British President of Congress

### 1896: in Calcutta

·National Song (Vande Mataram) was sung for the 1st time by Tagore

Written by: Bankim Chatterjee



- 1901: in Calcutta
- ·1st time Gandhi appeared
- 1905: in Banaras
- · Gopal Krishna Gokhale
- 1906: in Calcutta
- · Dadabhai Naoroji
- · 4 resolutions: Swaraj, Swadeshi, Boycott, and National Education
- 1907: in Surat
- · R. B Ghosh
- · Congress split during this time
- 1911: in Calcutta
- ·1st time National Anthem (Jana Gana Mana) Sung --> Written by Rabindranath Tagore
- 1916: in Lucknow
- · Ambika Charan Mazumdar
- ·Merger of Congress
- 1917: in Calcutta
- . Annie Besant -> 1st Women president of Congress
- 1924: in Belgaum (Karnataka)

Mahatma Gandhi (president)

- 1925: in Kanpur
- ·Sarojini Naidu 🛶 1st Indian women
- 1929: in Lahore
- J. L Nehru (President of INC)
- Madan Mohan Malviya —> Most no. of times
   President

- 1931: in Karachi
- · Sardar Patel

## 1937: Faizpur

· J. L Nehru --- 1st session held in village

# Governor Generals

#### William Bentinck (1828-1835)

- · 1st Governor General of India
- · 1829: Abolition of Sati
- · Suppression of Thug
- · Abolished Circuit Courts

# Metcafe (1835-36)

· He is known as liberator of Indian Press

# Dalhousie (1848-1856)

- ·During his time
- Doctrine of Lapse (1848)
- ·1st railway line (1853) → From Bombay to Thane
- · Widow Remarriage Act (1856)
- · Postal Act, Telegraph lines spread across
- · Wood's Dispatch

# Mayo (1869-1872)

·1st Census held at his time (1872)

Not complete, synchronised Census

# Lytton (1876-1880)

- · Arms Act (1878)
- · Brought Vernacular Press Act (1878) To ban local newspapers
- -1st newspaper "Bengal Gazette" by: James Augustus Hickey

# **Famous Newspapers:**

- ·Prabuddha Bharata: by Swami Vivekananda
- · Al-Hilal: by Abul Kalam Azad
- -Mook Nayak: by B. R Ambedkar





## Ripon (1880-1884)

- · Ilbert Bill Controversy
- 'He repealed Vernacular Press Act
- 1st synchronised/complete Census held →1881
- · Father of Local Self Government
- · Hunter Commission (1882) Related to Education
- ' Factory Act (1881)

# One Liners (MCQs)

- · 1st to qualify Indian Civil Services: Satyendranath Tagore
- In 1929, INC demanded Complete Independence under the Presidency of J. L Nehru at Lahore
- Maulana Abul Kalam Azad presided over the special session of Congress in September 1923 and at the age of 35
- →He also became the youngest man to be elected as the President of the Congress
- · President of INC at the time of independence in 1947: J B Kriplani
- · 1st President of All India Trade Union Congress: Lala Lajpat Rai
- · President of the INC in year 1938 and 1939: Subash Chandra Bose
- "Purna Swaraj" was adopted by Congress Session in: Lahore Session
- Indian National Association was established in 1876 by: Anand Mohan Bose in 1876